Geisel Award 2012

most distinguished book for beginning readers

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year. The award was established in 2004 and first presented in 2006.

Award Web Site: Geisel Award

Show All | Show Winners | Title/Author Only | Covers Only || View By Year: 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 |

Author: Josh Schneider
2012 Geisel Award - Winner

A father tells outlandish stories while trying to get his young son, who is a very picky eater, to eat foods he thinks he will not like.

Author: Klassen A bear almost gives up his search for his missing hat until he remembers something important.
2012 Geisel Award - Jon


Author: Mo Willems
2012 Geisel Award - Honor

Gerald the elephant tells his best friend Piggie a long, crazy story about how he broke his trunk.

Author: Paul Meisel
2012 Geisel Award - Honor
Happiness is a day in the park for a pack of joyful canines. Their doggy day becomes even more wonderful when they discover a mother lode of bones! But when the bones magically arrange themselves as a T. rex, the dogs find themselves running once again, this time away from the giant skeleton.