Sibert Medal 2011

most distinguished informational book

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in English during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. of Jacksonville, Illinois.

Award Web Site: Sibert Informational Book Medal

Show All | Show Winners | Title/Author Only | Covers Only | View By Year : 2020 |  2019 | 2018 |  2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

Author: Sy Montgomery
2011 Sibert Medal - Winner

On remote Codfish Island off the southern coast of New Zealand live the last 91 kakapo parrots on earth. Originally this bird numbered in the millions before humans brought predators to the islands. Now on the isolated island refuge, a team of scientists is trying to restore the kakapo population.

Author: Jan Greenberg
2011 Sibert Medal - Honor

Tells the story behind the creation of Appalachian Spring, describing Aaron Copland's composition, Martha Graham's intense choreography and Isamu Noguchi's set design.

Author: Russell Freedman
2011 Sibert Medal - Honor

An account of Marquis de Lafayette, a young French nobleman, who helped bring victory at Yorktown and became a lifelong friend of George Washington.